Planted Seed Designs Charming Blog Tour!

Welcome to my blog and my turn on the Planted Seed Designs Blog Tour of Gerri Robinson’s new fabric collection, Charming.  I LOVE this fabric collection!!  It not only is in my favorite colors, blues, cream, grey; but I also love classic floral and paisley fabric prints.

I’ve been sewing and quilting for quite a few decades, and in the last five years find that I’m most passionate about English Paper Piecing (EPP, for short).  EPP has become so popular in the last few years.  Even though it is considered a traditional technique, modern quilters have put their twist on it.  I love seeing all the different ways EPP is being incorporated in today’s quilt designs.

PSD CHARMING (BATCH 01)-32

When I first saw the Charming collection, I knew that the paisley and tile prints were perfect for EPP and fussy cutting.  I also discovered that gorgeous floral print had fussy cutting potential!  So, I thought it would be grand to incorporate EPP into one of Gerri’s recent quilt patterns, Hidden Stars, which can be found in her new book, Casual Classic Quilts.  Since I had just started working on the new Sue Daley BOM, Round We Go, I thought it would be fantastic to fill the “open spaces” of Hidden Stars, with …… Stars (which is the basic design within Sue Daley’s BOM)!  A new quilt design was born….how about Starry, Starry Night Sampler!!!  Take a peek …

PSD MEDIUM QUILT

It has a wonderful “sampler quilt” look, don’t you agree?

Let me walk through the easy steps of combining these two pattern designs.  You will need to be familiar with doing English Paper Piecing.  If you aren’t, there are some wonderful tutorials on YouTube.

Of course you will need Gerri’s book, Casual Classic Quilts, which is available on her website.  Hidden Stars is a wonderfully simple design to sew up and can be found on page 11.  You  use an assortment of  2-1/2 inch strips from the Charming collection, along with fabrics for the background, backing and binding.  Once your quilt top is pieced, then it’s on to adding the English paper pieced stars.

6154

  • If you haven’t seen the Round We Go Block of the Month at Sue Daley Designs, I suggest you give it a look.  The patterns come in these sweet seed packets along with the papers and acrylic templates.

20170816_180140

  • I fussy cut many of the stars you see in the quilt.  I love this technique.  I spend a great deal of time playing with the 2 panel mirror.  The possibilities are really endless!  The paisley fabric in Charming is perfect for fussy cutting, along with the tile print.  I worked some magic with the gorgeous large floral print, too.

20170817_065425.jpg

 

  • So put together 13 stars, just leave off the outer round EPP shapes because the open blocks of Hidden Stars already have that rounded look.  Then applique your EPP stars into the open spaces of the quilt using the applique method of your choice.  I love handwork, so I hand appliqued my stars.  Machine applique or a blanket stitch, using matching thread, are also options.

6573

  • Add your batting and backing and quilt as desired.  I quilted around each open area and star.  I did some stitching in the ditch in the stars.  I also added a single line of quilting through the middle of the scrappy patched rows.
  • Bind your quilt and Done!

sampler 2

I hope you have as much fun as I did with creating this quilt.  It will be a lovely addition to your home — hang it on the wall, use it as a topper on your bed or just drape it over your favorite chair or couch.   This quilt is so comfy soft, it’ll be my favorite go to quilt when reading a good book or enjoying my favorite movie.

PSD CHARMING (BATCH 02)-15

This project has been so much fun!  Thank you, Gerri, for inviting me to contribute to the Charming blog tour.

Happy quilting, Everyone!!!

Trish

 

 

Leave a Reply

